Search Search

Science Technology Engineering Mathematics for Children

STEM for Families Weekly Schedule Winter 2019. Please contact the program leader Eugenia Khorosheva Jenia@caltech.edu for any questions.

Caltech and JPL Scientists create and simultaneously test this new model of educating children from Kindergarten grade to 12th (5 years old to 18 years old). Students are divided in small groups and receive a well-rounded education in STEM; it's entirely free, it's volontary-based, and open-source.
How it works? Caltech/JPL families teach their children after work hours in small groups ( 6-12 students per class). They use the best curricula from the globe, and also provide the alternative way of interacting with information on conceptual level. They create their own teaching methods and curricula, which are adequate and beneficial for mastering each given subject.

 

Mondays, 6 pm -7 pm and 7:10 pm – 8:10 pm:

• Math and science for 5 year old students - coordinated by Alka Singh alka.singh@jpl.nasa.gov and Anat Kahan anatk@caltech.edu. Teachers: Group parents.
• Natural Sciences  for 7 year old students - coordinated by Elena Mokshanova Owens makimi@mail.ru.
Teachers: Rodinde Hendrickx rodinde@caltech.edu, substitute teacher Anushree Sengupta anushree.sengupta@gmail.com. The class is full.
• Math Circle for 9 -11 year old student s–  intermediate level class, coordinated by Wendy Yang wendykyang@gmail.com.
Teacher: Alex Lifshitz alexander.lif@gmail.com.
• Math Circle for 11-13 year old students – advanced level class, coordinated by Jennifer Mok, Lee Peng  lpmok@caltech.edu.
Teacher: Lev Tumaykin, lev@tumaykin.com. The class is a satellite of the UCLA math circle.
• Physics for 1 3-16 year old students – new class.
Teacher: Alex Soibel, JPL scientist. Please fill the form https://goo.gl/forms/Ex2OcXXxgL81YKUU2 to sign up and contact the group coordinator Gali Podzemskay galpp@yahoo.com, for any questions.

Tuesdays, starting 6:00pm and 6:30pm

• Math Circle for 7- 8 year old students - coordinated by Marina Agranov magranov@hss.caltech.edu and Yong Liu yong_liu_nj@yahoo.com.
Teacher: Viktor Raskin vraskin@gmail.com.
• Math Circle for 7- 8 year old students -  coordinated by Gali Podzemskay galpp@yahoo.com.
Teacher: Dana Soibel, the class is a satellite of the UCLA math circle. The class is full.
• Math Circle for 9 -10 year old students - coordinated by Michelle Chen tpottsie@gmail.com.
Teachers: Ali Hajimiri, Ulyana Dyudina and Nathan Lee. The class is full.
• New Math Circle for 8 - 10 years old students –
Teacher: Logan Joseph, the class is a satellite of the UCLA Math Circle.  Please email Jeiran jlashai@mac.com and cc Jenia jenia@caltech.edu and Tanya tpottsie@gmail.com if you are willing to join the class.
• New Calculus/Physics class –
Teacher: Logan Joseph, the class is a satellite of the UCLA Math Circle.  Coordinator – TBD. Please contact Eugenia Khorosheva jenia@caltech.edu for details, and fill the form https://goo.gl/forms/Ex2OcXXxgL81YKUU2 to sign up.
• International group: Russian speaking STEM class – coordinators – Liza Bradulina liza.bradulina@gmail.com and Smirnova, Yelena yelenas@caltech.edu.
Teachers: Group parents.

Thursdays, 6:15 pm

• Natural Sciences for 9 -10 years old children – coordinated by Lena Owens makimi@mail.ru.
Teacher: Eugenia (Jenia) Khorosheva jenia@caltech.edu, the class is full.

Fridays, 5:00 pm

• Math circle for 7-8 year old children – coordinated by Mikalina Efros <Mikalina.Efros@pfizer.com.
Teachers: Vatche Sahakian sahakian@g.hmc.edu and Ann Esin esin@g.hmc.edu

Saturdays, 2:00 pm and 3:00 pm

• Math Circle for 9 -10 year old students - coordinated by glenn.and.melody@mac.com and Kevin Wong kwong@cms.caltech.edu.
Teacher: Glenn Johnson glenn.and.melody@mac.com
• Coding class for 11-14 year old students - coordinated by Kathy Wang kchautran@hotmail.com.
Teacher: Roman Tumaykin roman@tumaykin.com and Alex Lifshitz alexander.lif@gmail.com.

• Calculus/physics class for 14-17 year old students.
It is an introductory calculus class that teaches the fundamentals of Calculus and how they are derived. The teacher will introduce the applications of calculus in Newtonian Physics.
4:15pm - Annenberg Room 106.
Please fill the form if you are interested to join the class - https://goo.gl/forms/l13d9FxGq6pn0mTo1

Network information:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/810687422608690/?ref=group_header

https://www.linkedin.com/groups/13657823/

HELP NEEDED: WE ARE LOOKING FOR NEW TEACHERS IN:
- Math Circles groups: varied age groups – we will provide help with materials and books for this age, if needed!
- Natural Sciences classes: varied age groups.- Coding class for beginners (Python)

HELP NEEDED: WE ARE LOOKING FOR VOLUNTEERS TO HELP IN MANAGING STEM PROGRAM RUNNING ON. If you have great organizational skills, reliability, and talent in working with people, then please contact the program leader Eugenia Khorosheva Jenia@caltech.edu for any questions and for interviews!